Incoming!

After a couple of conversations about the nature of my video ‘reviews’, and in order to prevent any more confusion, I’ve decided to rename the show.

As of this coming Friday (16th May), the show will now be called ‘Incoming!‘.

The intent of the show is the same, to take a look back at the weeks miniature releases, and to pick my favourites from the week.

The show is not meant to be a critical review of the figures involved, but rather my own opinions on what has caught my eye in the batch of the week’s releases.

*Update – after a quick think, I’ve decided to stick to my original plan and only look at historical miniatures..

7 Comments on Incoming!

  1. I watched at least one of the “conversations” you reference with no little bemusement.

    As I understood it, the opinion advanced against you was that you could not “review” a figure that you did not personally have in your hand and were instead only looking at an image of, whether pictorial or video.

    The absurdity of this criticism of your efforts would not normally require any response; for example, if they are right, then they cannot opine on the content of a movie they watched or painting they viewed at a gallery. But now you have in fact changed your show format in response. That is your business, of course, but it was also utterly and completely your business what format you used in the first place.

    I enjoyed your first efforts in miniature reviews. Keep it up.

    • Keir

      I want to make it clear that I’m not chaging the format of the show – and after a brief waver, I’m not going down the ‘sci-fi/fantasy’ route either.

      I’m simply dropping the title ‘review’ from the show to prevent any confusion, or implications which could be derived from it.

      It is true that ‘review’ does have a certain expectation, so I thought I’d be proactive about the whole thing – and ‘Incoming!’ does have a better ring to it, don’t you think?

      Neil

  2. Neil,

    I like “Incoming”. It’s got brand recognition potential.

    I’m looking forward to your next salvo. πŸ˜‰

    Keir

  3. Col. Marbles // May 12, 2009 at 20:43 // Reply

    I like the sound of ‘Incoming!’. Keep up the great work, don’t list to any whingers.

  4. Well Incoming does have a ring to it mate, but I’m sure the quality of your reviews (am I allowed to call them that ;-)) will be as good as ever so keep up the good work.

    PS if you are at Partizan later this month pop over the the Gripping Beast stand as I’ll be around there doing a WWI demo game set in Gallipoli

  5. crusoe76 // May 13, 2009 at 10:54 // Reply

    Having followed the same conversations on TMP, I couldn’t agree with the first poster (Keir) more. I think that the majority of your podcast and vidcast listeners and viewers are very grateful for the time and effort you take to support and promote the hobby regardless over semantic ponderings of the word “review”! πŸ˜‰

    Thanks for all your efforts.

Leave a Reply

