Meeples & Miniatures – Episode 69. The Painting Show, Part II

Download Episode 69

Welcome to Episode 69 of the Meeples & Miniatures Podcast

This show is Part II of our Painting Special (Part I was in Episode 65) with guest presenter Steve Archbold.

We chat about various painting techniques and painting styles that you can use in order to produce a ‘Wargames’ standard miniature, and also talk about basing your minis – and of course, we go off on a couple of tangents…including more discussions about glue!

We hope you enjoy the show.

During the show, we discuss various different painting techniquesand chat about various models – pictures of the models we talk about appear below:

8 Comments on Meeples & Miniatures – Episode 69. The Painting Show, Part II

  1. Holy moly!!! I hope you tell us where you got the stargate minis. I NEED to make those. Great shows, can’t wait to get all the way thru this one.

  2. Great! Been really looking forward to this one.

    Thanks Neil & Steve. 🙂

  3. Fantastic stuff as always!

  4. Thanks guys. Quick question on Steve’s “mix”, I think he said 40/20/40 on water/retarder/flow aid – what ratio of flow improver:water do you use for the flow aid 1:10 or 1:20?

  5. Very enjoyable listen. Good info as well. Thank you!

  6. Michael Blair // January 24, 2011 at 22:15 // Reply

    I believe solvent cement does go off as the volatiles evaporate. I remember reading that one model railway outfit stopped selling one because they could not find a way to stop it from evaporating from the bottle. This being said I have bottles of Humbrol cement that are years old and use them without a problem. I do suspect your problem with the Ex Illis miniatures is with the plastic they are made from not the cement, the Mongoose Starship Troopers figures had a similar problem. You could try a stronger solvent cement such as Ambroid Pro Weld or Slater’s Mek-Pak.

  7. Jeez, am I really this far behind? Just catching up while I put the finishing touches to BG25 and really enjoyed listening to you chaps shoot the breeze about painting and basing.

    I found it interesting what you had to say about the colour of base edges, Neil. I only tend to think about that when painting GW minis because of the ‘plinth’ style bases they come with, which have always annoyed me, to be honest, because I much prefer slender bases where the miniatures can blend in with the terrain more. I tend to colour the edges of my bases some shade of green or brown because I *don’t* want them to stand out!

    Incidentally, I have always seen the difference between “glaze” and “wash” and building up a colour that is going to have a sheen to it. After all, a glazier is someone who fits glass into windows and doors — so the resultant finish is likely to be on the satin-gloss side. I would most often use a glaze over a white or other pale or richly coloured basecoat. Glazes are often built up with inks because the shellac content of inks has, in itself, a ‘glassy’, varnish-like quality which can also be found in true, artists’ watercolours that are bound using Gum Arabic. Great for jewel-like effects and sumptuous, silk-like effects as well as Non-Metal Metallics.

    A wash, on the other hand, is something I tend to use to darken or dull down an existing colour, using darker tones of the original hue, which produces a shadowed or even matt result. A wash can be used over any colour basecoat, but of course it’s difficult to add shadow to black(!) so it would normally be used over a lighter base colour you have already applied.

    Okay, I’ll shut up now.

Leave a Reply

