View from the Veranda – Episode 6


Download Episode 6

Welcome to Episode 6 of the View from the Veranda Podcast.

Hello Everyone!

Yes, after far too long, we’re back…having finally managed to get ourselves on opposite ends of the same piece of technology at roughly the same time.

As you may expect, after such a long absence, most of the show is spent catching up on things that have happened since we were last together…so the subject matter is quite wide ranging (no change there then!)

Be warned – this is a long show! At 150 (ish) minutes, its the longest we’ve ever recorded, but hopefully that won’t put you off too much.

So, pour yourself a glass of something, pull up a chair and join us ‘On the Veranda’

Neil & Henry

17 Comments on View from the Veranda – Episode 6

  1. Hooray!
    Looking forward to playing this tomorrow!
    Cheers guys!

  2. Martin Kearney // April 10, 2011 at 03:20 // Reply

    There are a lot of things gamers can do to help with the combat stress appeal.add an extra Β£/$ to your weekly meeting fee,or hold a little sponsored charity event.

    This time last year a few friends of mine held sponsored sausage eating contest.I cant remember exactly what it was for apart from the fact it was for some bit of kit for the local childerns ward.we managed to get Β£3,600 between myself and the other guys/gals 20 in total.oh btw i came in second with 70 of those nasty asda sausages lol

    I may well have something for this whole combat stress thingy.il fire you a pm during the week about that .

  3. It may have been a long time coming but it was an absolute pleasure to listen to the latest View from the Veranda.

    I am going to Salute next week, so I hope I am able to thank both you and Mr Hyde in person for doing these irregular podcasts.

  4. Been far too long. πŸ™‚

    You’re a wonderful combination for the hobby, Gentlemen. I’m playing this again tomorrow while I sculpt. Looking forward to the next one – just after Salute apparently . . . πŸ˜‰

    • Well, when we say that we would record an episode at Salute, that might be too grandiose a title. Apparently, the South London Warlords have managed to find a relatively quiet broom cupboard in which we can hide and record something.
      However, given the general hectic nature of the day, I very much doubt whether we will be able to squeeze in more than about 15-20 minutes of chat – so something more akin to ‘View from the Porch’.

      • snowcat // April 11, 2011 at 15:11 //

        . . . or ‘Peep from the Closet’.

        Maybe you’ll be able to get together shortly afterwards like you suggested, and compare notes. πŸ™‚

  5. Great episode.
    I’m with you on the C&C Napoleonics being perfect for 6mm.
    (Though I’ve just left them on strip-sized elements)
    Cheers, Donogh

  6. Christoffer B // April 12, 2011 at 04:04 // Reply

    With warhammer ancients in the state it is in, should we fear for warmaster ancients?
    Thanks for all the hard work you are doing.

  7. I just finished listening. Really good show. VftV is the worlds premier wargaming podcast. Thank you very much.

    I would like to comment on plastics. The main reason most of these figures remain in their boxes and not out on the wargaming table is simple. You have to glue them together. It’s the worst job in wargaming. Real men can’t be bothered with that.

    Good luck to Henry with your walking. I have developed a beer guts myself so I have started pounding the pavement again. I share your pain.

    Paul

  8. Your parents weren’t married Henry.

    Less than an hour into the podcast and not only do you reveal the secret of WD3 to the world at large, you then go on to mention Matildas in the desert bringing forth delusions of A9s, 2 pounder portees and Italian tin can armour. What am I supposed to say to the missus now – yes dear the little tanks go with the 6mm Romans I just bought?

    grumble

    (good podcast so far though)

  9. Flower of Battle // April 14, 2011 at 15:45 // Reply

    View from the veranda is definitely one of my favorite shows right now — good opinions and entertaining style! Keep it up

  10. VftV is my favorite podcast, bar none, and this was the best one so far. Thanks for putting these shows together . . . long may they continue.

  11. Dave Smith // April 17, 2011 at 03:20 // Reply

    Another great episode, guys…. This is my favorite podcast of the 20 or so I download. and I’ll probably listen to it twice. I look forward to another, soon.

    Best wishes,

    Dave Smith
    New Almaden, California

  12. Gentlemen, a pleasure to have you back.

    Henry, the tv series you were thinking of was called ‘The Rat Patrol” very loosely based on Sterling’s version of the SAS. They did two series and the are avaliable from Amazon UK.

    Hope this helps

  13. Loved ‘The Rat Patrol’ reference – used to watch it in the 70’s as a kid (it was still running in the 70’s in Australia anyway). I even had my own Tamiya ‘Rat Patrol’ jeep that I used to drive around the floor against Airfix Afrika Korps! πŸ™‚

    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0060018/
    http://epguides.com/RatPatrol/

  14. PS Forgot to add to the above: (. . . whilst furiously humming the catchy Rat Patrol theme music!)

    πŸ™‚

  15. I just finished up a marathon of listening to VftV 1-6 over the past week or so. I really love this podcast. It is like an English version of the American podcast “Noisemakers”…probably with a bit more polish. I hope to hear more from you guys sooner than later!

    BTW, you left the podcast incomplete. I don’t think you mentioned banana oil once for the entire 2+ hours!

    Looking forward to the next installment.

    John

Leave a Reply

