Meeples & Miniatures – Episode 86d – Salute 2012 Coverage, Part IV

Download Episode 86d

Welcome to Episode 86d of the Meeples & Miniatures Podcast

In this, the last of the episodes covering Salute 2012, I am joined by Rich Jones. We discuss some of our highlights from the show and sum up the day.

I hope you enjoy it.

9 Comments on Meeples & Miniatures – Episode 86d – Salute 2012 Coverage, Part IV

  1. Just finished this one and C. Thanks for putting these up – especially for those of us who will likely never make it to the show. Interesting comments on “demonstration” games and the difference in cultures on either side of the pond. Our local show is in a couple of weeks and I will be attending for the first time in about 30 years. Playing games is definitely a big part of it. I am down for 3 including thanks to you, Saga. I’ll let you know how it goes.

  2. Roger Smith // May 2, 2012 at 09:47 // Reply

    Re Demo games. I was at Partizan few years ago, watching a 17th Cent game put on by a famous group of people. I was just about to ask a question, when one of the players rolled his dice, rushed round the table to move his troops, and just barged me out of the way. Unreal.

    I realised the game was not for the public, it was just a chance for them to have free space to play their own big game.

    It is a common problem and needs to be addressed.

  3. Roger

    hope to put on a huge Demo Game at Salute next year………you are welcome to come
    over and ask as many questions as you like……..we nay even treat you to a coffee or tea!
    will keep you posted

    regards
    Ged

    http://www.gringo40s.com
    http://www.gringo40s.blogspot.com

  4. I enjoyed all the shows Neil, and Rich topped it all off in the last one. Thank you.

  5. Neil,

    Though your Salute coverage was great, some really excellent interviews. Two things though:
    1. What did you think of Dropship Cmdr by Hawk Wargames – you barely got a word in edge ways in the interview and I would be interested in your views.
    2. Next time you speak to Rich please ask him how the WWII supplement for flying lead is going – some of us are still waiting keenly for it!
    Thanks again.

    Peter

    • Hello Peter

      Very glad you enjoyed the shows – I did record a bit in the last show on DC but cut it after I constantly got the name wrong! (Brain freeze!)

      I was pretty impressed with the models for DC – they certainly look very impressive, and I can understand why they went for 10mm scale rather than 15mm (although harder to think why they just didn’t do 6mm instead – perhaps a question for another interview)
      The proof of the pudding will be with the rules – we had no preview of those, and whilst the models are great, if the companion ruleset isn’t good, then they may regret producing models in this ‘intermidiate’ scale.

      I will ask Rich about his WW2 supplement, and bring news the next time we are together.

      Neil

  6. Keep up the good work with this.

    The only thing I would suggest is to make the link to play the podcast, bigger.

    I couldn’t find it at first!

  7. Neil, is there any chance you could put a hyperlink to the guy who took 250 odd photos.
    I liked the way you did this with a series of linked podcasts, especially so soon afterwards,

Leave a Reply

