Meeples on the Edge – roleplaying in the Star Wars universe

Whilst I’m primarily a miniature wargamer and a boardgamer, I have dabbled with roleplaying from time to time. I played Dungeons & Dragons when I was a teenager (the old red and blue box editions) and briefly dabbled in 4th Edition D&D with a group a few years ago. I enjoyed it, but 4th Edition seemed to be little more than a skirmish miniatures game – and then the GM who ran the group moved away, so that was that. So I haven’t played a rolplaying game for about 4 years…

SWE02-book-rightIf you listened to Episode 110 of the Podcast, you will know that Rich Jones was very enthusiastic about Star Wars: Edge of the Empire, the new roleplaying game published by Fantasy Flight Games. This was announced at GenCon 2012 and the core rulebook has just been published.

One of the main differences between this game and any others (say, the d20 system, for example) is the dice mechanics. The game uses custom dice in such a way that the results of any dice roll can be used to drive the narrative. FFG have just released a YouTube video introduction to the game which explains a few things in more detail:

Following Episode 110, Rich suggested that it might be an interesting idea to try playing EotE via Skype – there was no way that we could get together to play face-to-face in the short term – and so he gathered a group of friends together to play an adventure.

Of course, me being me, I decided that it might be a good idea to record the session – you never know, people might be interested…

We’ve now played 2 acts of a 3 act adventure, and I’ve recorded both sessions. I present them here for your listening ‘pleasure’. You may want to also look at the accompanying blog, which gives some more character detail, and also has the maps for the first game.

Character Introduction to the adventure – “The Enemy of my Enemy…”

Maps for the first adventure

Overview of events in Act I

Meeples on the Edge – Episode 1 : The full ‘live’ roleplaying session of Act I

Overview of events in Act II

 Meeples on the Edge – Episode 2 : The full ‘live’ roleplaying session of Act II

I know this might not be to everyone’s liking, but I thought that it was something different, and I think that there is enough in the sessions for them to be both entertaining, and for you also to get a grasp of how the FFG dice system works in practice.

12 Comments on Meeples on the Edge – roleplaying in the Star Wars universe

  1. moocifer // July 5, 2013 at 09:32 // Reply

    I enjoyed reading the Act overviews/summaries.

  2. NavHogan // July 5, 2013 at 20:07 // Reply

    I really enjoyed the first act, looking forward to listening to the 2nd one.

  3. Andrew Malcolm // July 7, 2013 at 08:43 // Reply

    Dear Neil,

    I enjoyed the live recordings of the RPG sessions. It’s given me a good overview of the rules and dice mechanics, which sound original and innovative. I got caught up with the drama of Hobbsie and the shooting contest, in episode II. You’ve persuaded me to buy the beginner’s box of the game.

    If I could make one comment, the background music in episode II, made it difficult to hear some of the players. It might work better if music is edited on after the recording, rather than played over Skype.

    I’d love to hear game recordings for some of the hybrid RPG – Wargames, such as TOUR OF DARKNESS (Vietnam), WEIRD WAR TWO (WWII), or NECROPOLIS 2350 (sci-fi).

    ANDREW.

    • Brian Parker // July 19, 2013 at 17:30 // Reply

      I’d forgotten about the music, I agree with Andrew, it did make it difficult to hear sometimes.
      Brian

  4. Mark Jessop // July 10, 2013 at 00:12 // Reply

    I’m enjoying the first episode, looking forward to the next. Will someone please move the budgie?

  5. Really enjoyed listening to Act 1. So much so it’s convinced me to buy the core Rulebook!

    I’m particularly looking forward to incorporating the odd X-wing skirmish game into the scenarios, seems like a perfect way to keep things fresh mid-session.

  6. Hi Neil,
    really enjoyed the first two Acts, when’s the next one due ?
    Keep up the good work.
    Cheers
    Steve.

  7. Loving this! Listening to ep 1 now.

    And I literally laughed out loud when someone said, “he’s on Bespin but not connected to Cloud backup?” LOL

    Again, loving it! Making me want to play as well!

  8. I did order my Beginner set and hoping to get a gaming group of this going SOON! I thought you guys were playing the beginner module, but I read a “review” of it, and then saw the download for “long arm” and finally found this one. Wow! When my beginner box gets here I’ll have 7 “modules” waiting on me and the players. 🙂

    So – thanks again for posting this! I had heard of the game, but not really had any interest until your podcast… 🙂

Leave a Reply

