Meeples & Miniatures – Episode 129 – All Quiet on the Martian Front

Download Episode 129

Welcome to Episode 129  of the Meeples & Miniatures Podcast

Slide1

In this show Neil Shuck & Mike Hobbs review the rules and models of the new Sci-Fi wargame All Quiet on the Martian Front from Alien Dungeon.

We hope you enjoy the show

App Bonus Content: App subscribers also get access to a video of some of the models available for the game, assembled andpainted by Mike Hobbs.

5 Comments on Meeples & Miniatures – Episode 129 – All Quiet on the Martian Front

  1. Hi
    I agree with Mike on the Green Gas weapon, I couldn’t bring myself to make this version either. the bright green balls and the limp-wristed throwing action put me right off. I also converted the Black Dust launcher but added the ammo tube to the rear instead of on top.

    I half agree about the activation system but the alternate unit activation works best when playing with a few units, but IGOUGO works best for large battles as its faster and you don’t have to mark which units have activated. I’ve played 3 games now and the rules do work really well.

    Dave

    • hi Dave

      I did play around with placing the tube to the rear of the BD launcher but I thought it looked a bit long, but I’ll be interested in seeing a pic of yours as I could be wrong

      thanks for the comments on the activation system, you do bring up a good point about speed and easy of play with IGOUGO systems, its one I didn’t consider.

      I still havent played the rules yet but I’m hopeing to get a game in this weekend so will report back

      Mike

  2. I pledged this back then. Then I realized it and Deadzone closed on the same day. I could not spend $300 in one day, so I went with Deadzone and cancelled Martian Front.

    I also love 15mm Sci-Fi. I play Gruntz at least twice a month.

    It’s always been in the back of my mind – did I make a mistake? Should I have gone with Martian Front instead of Deadzone?

    Considering that I have been playing Deadzone weekly for months before MF even shipped, and listening to your overview, I made the right choice.

    While Martian Front sounds OK, Deadzone is a favorite of mine.

    That aside, given my already existing love for 15mm sci-fi, should I buy into MF?

    The rules did not sound great to me. I do like the tripods, but the rest of the minis do not call out to me.

    I think I’ll skip this one. Thanks for helping me make up my mind. You guys have introduced me to a lot of games that I love to play, but steering me away from games I probably won’t like is an equal service.

Leave a Reply

