Trying to get organised (again!)

After reading a link from a recent tweet from Henry Hyde, I was struck again by just how disorganised I am about this whole blogging and podcasting business especially when fellow podcast hosts, such as Mike Whitaker, manage to post a blog entry almost every day!

As you may have noticed, whilst I attempt to publish two podcast episodes a month, plus extra blog posts, the appearance of these is a somewhat random occurrence, and I’m grateful to everyone for having the patience of saints whilst waiting for the next update.

Well, with it being the start of a new academic year this week, I’m once again resolving to try and be somewhat more organised (I can hear the cheer from Wales from chez Hobbs at this point). My proposal is this:

Podcast

I’ll be publishing shows on the 1st and 15th of each month, starting from the 1st September (although I might sneak another show in before the end of August, if I can get the ‘Valhalla’ show edited in time!)

Blog

I’ll be publishing three posts each week on the blog, on Monday, Wednesday and Friday.

Monday will consist of any personal hobby updates (new models, painting etc!) Many of will assume that this is likely to be something of a short entry! It is, however, as much about challenging me to ensure that I get at least a little personal hobby time each week.

Wednesday will be a written review of a set of rules or a supplement.

Friday will be a round up of the bits of hobby news of the week that have caught my eye

Special Announcements

There might be special announcements from time to time which will fall outside the above timetable. These will obviously be of an ad-hoc nature

Vidcast

I haven’t had much chance to put together any vidcasts for some months now. However, I’d still love to do these,especially now that I have a camera which can also capture full HD movies. They are quite time consuming to produce (which is one reason why they haven’t appeared recently!) but I’m hoping that they may start appearing at weekends once life settles down a bit.

That’s the plan, but we all know that plans don’t tend to survive first contact with the enemy!

9 Comments on Trying to get organised (again!)

  1. Philip Mackie // August 26, 2014 at 13:08 // Reply

    Well good luck with all that planning and scheduling! I’ll look forward to reading and hearing the results.

  2. Hi Neil,

    Glad to hear about the “New academic year’s resolutions” and I wish you the best of luck with them. Don’t worry too much if the schedule slips a bit. You do this in your spare time and I’m guessing that most of us will cut you some slack because we appreciate the amount of work that goes into it.

    Audio is hard enough but apparently you are crazy enough to do video-podacasting as well.

    I’m not even a proper wargamer. I do boardgames and RPG’s mostly but when my company was taken over by a corporate giant about 2 years ago I needed cheering up on my, now longer commute as a corporate drone. I thought back to my youth and searched for wargaming podcasts. M&M has been a fixture ever since and cheered me up mightily. You have also led to a weird proliferation of cardboard boxes in our house. Good job my wife likes playing games.

    I’m still not a wargamer but I’m a gamer and I have Memoir 44 and X-Wing. I’m not sure I’ll ever be a “proper mini wargamer” but I do enjoy the show.

    Live long and prosper!

    Brian

    P.S. I loved the Meeples on the Edge.

  3. Good luck! PS That picture deserves a caption competition…

  4. armchairqb // August 26, 2014 at 18:52 // Reply

    Thanks for this. Really looking forward to the Pulp Alley podcast!

  5. Caption contest: “And here is where the G-Spot is”

  6. Big plans indeed, Neil. Good luck with keeping this pretty tight schedule. I do have some resolutions for the new “september to somewhat summer-ish” timespan as well but they are way less well crafted at this point.

    I really enjoy the content you put up. Keep it up, mate!

  7. Commanderroj // August 27, 2014 at 09:14 // Reply

    Meeples is my absolute favourite podcast, so you are doing something right! I hope the resolutions are successful, but to be honest, as long as Meeples keeps going I’ll be happy. Well done!

  8. Good luck, but no need to push it! I greatly enjoy the podcast and the blog, no matter how often you update it.

  9. Don’t change a thing

Leave a Reply

