Airfix Battles: Going back to how it all started

operation warboard cover 2When I was first introduced to wargaming, it was using the Operation Warboard rules and Airfix plastic model tanks – not the kits, but the ready-built soft plastic ones- do you remember those?

It was very much ‘Green vs Grey’ tank battles , so it tended to be a mix of Pattons, Shermans and Centurions vs Tigers and Panthers. What can I say? I was young…but equally it was a lot of fun.

Airfix 1/72 scale soft plastic Tiger Tank

Airfix 1/72 scale soft plastic Tiger Tank

A couple of years later I was playing ‘proper’ World War II games, using the same rules and lots of 1/72nd Airfix infantry and tanks…and it remained that way until I discovered Dungeons & Dragons and Games Workshop.

On Thursday, I had an e-mail from Chris Birch at Modiphius Entertainment, announcing the launch of a new Airfix wargaming project: Airfix Battles

airfix battles 1

This is a new, introduction level wargame, using playing mats, cut-outs for infantry and tanks (just in case you haven’t got any soldiers yet) and two card decks – one which contains all the stats for your models, the other which contains orders for your forces.

It also contains a 16-page rulebook and a 16-page mission bookm, and some dice.

This will be available in April 2016.

Then, in the summer, they will be releasing the Collectors Edition Rulebook, along with separate card decks.

airfix battles 2

This expands the introductory wargame from a board to the wargames table.

Full details are available here

The ‘little boy’ in me is very excited at this news. Lets face it, the last time that Airfix attempted to produce a wargame,it wasn’t the greatest success – remember Robogear?RoboGear-Battle-Set

It had a couple of half-decent mech¬†models (and yes, I’m still planning on painting those T-Rex for my sci-fi army), but was otherwise…err…not very good.

This time around though, Airfix are going with their strength: World War II. I really hope that it’s a success.

…and yes, I’m trying to get a chat with Chris on the podcast soon!

5 Comments on Airfix Battles: Going back to how it all started

  1. Reblogged this on easilylead and commented:
    Muchos excitement…

  2. I thought the last time Airfix attempted a Wargame it was Operation Overlord.

  3. mcdouglas2015 // November 22, 2015 at 20:16 // Reply

    Would have loved this 10 years ago when I was a teenager…
    Well maybe not 10 years….ahem!!
    Anyway, sounds like it might not be conventional UGO-IGO either which would make it invaluable as a first set of rules….in my opinion.

  4. Might be getting this for my boys in due course. One looked over my shoulder, saw the US Paras and said “Can I have those? “

  5. Pete Appleyard // April 27, 2016 at 21:16 // Reply

    I wanted this- 50 YEARS AGO.

Leave a Reply

