Meeples & Miniatures – Episode 163 – Sails of Glory

Download Episode 163

Welcome to Episode 163 of the Meeples & Miniatures Podcast

ep 163 logo

 

In this episode, hosts Neil Shuck, Mike Hobbs & Mike Whitaker discuss what they’ve been doing (Hobby-wise) for the past two weeks, cast their eye over some of the latest hobby news and then give an in-depth review of Sails of Glory; the Napoleonic Naval game from Ares Games.

We hope you enjoy the show

  • 00:00 – Intro
  • 06:47 – What we’ve been up to
  • 18:18 – Hobby News
  • 51:11 – Review: Sails of Glory
  • 2:07:48 – Outtro

9 Comments on Meeples & Miniatures – Episode 163 – Sails of Glory

  1. Dave Blood // January 20, 2016 at 21:48 // Reply

    A quick word about Deadzone, since you mentioned it.

    I love Deadzone. I play it a lot. With all the FAQs and errata, not to mention expansion books, when Mantic announced a Kickstarter to re-do the rule book, uniting all the various stuff into one revised book, I was overjoyed.

    That’s not what they are doing, though. They are going far past what the Kickstarter stated it’s goal was, and are completely re-writing the Deadzone rules. In my opinion, they have stripped out all that made Deadzone a great and unique game, and now have a very generic sci-fi shooter.

    For that reason, I withdrew from the Kickstarter and got a refund (which was nice of Mantic to offer).

    Will I keep playing Deadzone v1? Probably, but probably not as often. I’ll tell you one thing though, I will never play version 2.

    • Dave

      Like you, I bought into Deadzone because of the original rules design, and really liked it when I played the first beta rules. Unfortunately, I’ve not had chance to play the game since the Kickstarter actually arrived 😦

      I was a little surprised at the comments about redesigning the rules when they appeared on the Infestation KS. I didn’t think that the rules were that bad, tbh. I’ve not really looked at the new rules in any great depth, but I do fear that they have taken away much of what made Deadzone unique in the first place.

      It was always my intention to use a Deadzone variant with my own sci-fi figures – I liked the way the grid system worked, and it made life simple (I didn’t agree about limiting ranges on bigger boards, but that’s another subject) so I will still use much of what Deadzone supplied. Similar with Infestation, the new scenery will come in useful, and I like the extra Enforcer models.

      I don’t envision playing this game outside of my immediate circle of friends, so perhaps the changes don’t matter so much, and I can continue playing v1.
      However, this may also mean that I suddenly have a few armies up so sale 😦

  2. In defence of zombies.
    Listening to the show right now and just wanted to chip in on a few things.
    First: Mars Attacks. I’ve had half a dozen games and more are planned this year. Playing MA was also the prime reason I backed the Battlesystems Urban Apoc KS.
    Second:Zombies. Playing small unit combat against fast movers in Outbreak, single heroes against ravenous hordes as in Zombicide or survivor vs survivor in a zombie-riddled landscape in The Walking Dead is about as different as Weiss, Battleaxe and Epsom. Not the same animal.
    Now back to listening to the rest of the show. I am enjoying it greatly and I don’t even care for Napoleonic naval gaming.
    Cheers/Thomas

  3. Sails of Glory sounds such an interesting game but trying to get a copy in the UK seems like having teeth pulled. Cheapest I can find in stock in UK today is £80 – it’s cheaper to pay US postage and import fees, wait fro 2-3 weeks and get a copy for £67 – madness. Wayland Games may have had it for £55 but it is not currently available. If the game company wants to sell its product they need to up their game and make it available at reasonable prices.

  4. Based on Mike’s enthusiastic review I’ve jumped on board with Sails of Glory. My copy arrived today from Board Game Guru – £64.24 delivered in the UK. Shire Games also seem to have it in stock at a reasonable price. Neil suggested in the podcast looking at board game suppliers as well as the more familiar wargames outlets.

  5. Would it be possible to post a link to the QRF that combines the basic and standard rules for Sails of Glory, which Mike mentioned in the podcast? Cheers. Paul

  6. Cheers Mike. I’m looking forward to a try-out with my group next week. Like you, I think we’ll jump straight into the standard rules. We’re all long-time WoW/G players. I’ll be listening again before then – I appreciate the detailed run down you gave on the podcast.

  7. Following on from my post on 25/01 I put an order in with Wayland in the UK as they had the item as “available to order”. I have since received the following email…. Regarding your recent order reference xxx we regret to inform you that we have been notified by our suppliers that the product: ‘SGN001A – Sails Of Glory Starter Set’
    is no longer available and has been discontinued which means that we are unable to fulfill this item on your order.
    Order now being cancelled. Discontinued?

3 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. New Meeples & Miniatures Podcast | The Wargames Website
  2. Hobby News links for Podcast Episiode #163 | Meeples & Miniatures
  3. Podcast Roundup | Tabletop Gaming News

Leave a Reply

