The bigger the better?

As regular listeners are aware, we have started to play with the format of the show over the last couple of episodes, making our general ‘chat’ a bit more specific, and thus we have created a couple of show segments. We were also really keen to get a bit more listener feedback on the show, which is why the mailbag has appeared.

Alongside this, we are becoming increasingly aware that we are struggling to bring content to you in a timely manner with a shorter show (especially when we have interviews that are time specific, due to project launch dates etc.) so we have been looking running two features in an episode, rather than one. This might be two interviews, or an interview and a review.

However, the impact of this is the length of the show, which with Episode 164 actually hit 4Β  hours. Now admittedly, having a 30 minute mailbag slot is probably a bit excessive (for example) so there are places where we can apply some edits, or be more time conscious in the future.

However, what do you think? You have a week to let us know…

 

10 Comments on The bigger the better?

  1. I’ll have to go with the probably not too helpful “as long as you like” one.

    If an episode is 90 minutes or 300 minutes I don’t mind much as long as you people keep doing them. It’s not like people have to listen to them in one go. Everybody can listen at their own pace.

    • Sorry. ‘As long as you like’ would probably have been better phrased ‘no preference’, or ‘as long as each show needs to be’.

      One of the thoughts behind breaking the shows into sections is to:
      a) make it easier to listen to in sections.
      b) potentially spread the editing load

      Of course, another way of doing this would be to release them as separate shows, maybe weekly…

      • fleetfootmike // February 2, 2016 at 16:37 //

        I’m saying absolutely nothing πŸ˜€

      • By “probably not too helpful” I just meant that me ticking that box probably doesn’t help much with deciding on anything in terms of changing the show. πŸ™‚ For me the show works perfectly fine as it is now. For the people who want skim just for the hard info bits a podcast (kinda like video) just isn’t that suited. There’s wargaming news in text and pictures for that, like in the blog posts you do.

        The time codes you give with the new episodes is a pretty neat thing for people who want to skip certain things (not sure why they would. They obviously don’t have enough stuff to paint!).

        And I’ll pretend I didn’t hear the weekly thing. If you’re bored do a few video reviews of miniatures. πŸ˜‰

        Smaller shows I think would just be much more hassle to deal with on the listeners’ side, would create a backlog much faster if people don’t quite keep up with the shows and thus create a barrier to ‘catch up’ with the missed episodes.

  2. I am fine with listening to as much material as you put out!

  3. The more the merrier.

  4. Personally I enjoy listening when painting (and sometimes when writing) so for me the shows can go as long as possible; preferrably hitting a minimum of two hours πŸ™‚

  5. Brian Parker // February 4, 2016 at 00:16 // Reply

    I’m enjoying listening to the latest mega-episode as I drive to and from work this week. I also appreciate the incorporation of a bit of structure to the podcast. Easier to pick up again when I get back into the car.

  6. I’ve been a constant listener for about 6 months now (though I’ve caught up on a lot more shows than that ) and love the show with whatever format. I will say that the appeal to me is that informal chatty-ness, that makes it seem like I am sitting around the table with you, so I suppose I’d rather not see you becoming too programmed. Thanks for all the time and effort you and the Mikes put into this.

Leave a Reply

