Meeples & Miniatures – Episode 191 – The Veteran Wargamer + Commands & Colors Review

Download Episode 191

Welcome to Episode 191 of the Meeples & Miniatures Podcast

mm-191-logo

In this episode Neil Shuck, Mike Hobbs & Mike Whitaker are joined by the host of The Veteran Wargamer Podcast: Jay Arnold.

We’ve recorded a joint show. In this show, we interview Jay about his podcast, discuss a couple of topical issues, and then we review the Commands & Colors series of boardgames.

If you want to listen to Jay interview us, then you will have to listen to the Veteran Wargamer Podcast, Epsiode 8.

Show details:

  • 00:00 – Intro
  • 04:22 – Interview with Jay Arnold
  • 43.56 – Review of Commands & Colors
  • 1:32:37 – Outtro

We hope you enjoy the show

 

Follow us on Twitterhttps://twitter.com/mandmpodcast
Join our Facebook Grouphttps://www.facebook.com/groups/28105014608/
Support us on Patreonhttps://www.patreon.com/meeplesandminiatures
Contact us on emailmailbag@meeplesandminiatures.co.uk
Leave a message on our voicemail – 0116 3184114

10 Comments on Meeples & Miniatures – Episode 191 – The Veteran Wargamer + Commands & Colors Review

  1. John Sharman // January 14, 2017 at 17:38 // Reply

    Guys,

    You are VERY naughty!!! I have just clicked to purchase C & C Napoleonics.! But thanks for a very interesting show. As I struggle to paint figures in sufficient quantities to be able to put on games why did I not thank of C & C before?

    John

    • I hope you enjoy it John. It really is a great game. We didn’t get much chance to talk about expansions, but if you like the Naps game you can get expansions for Spanish, Russians, Austrians and Prussians, which eventually means you have scenarios for every major battle of the entire conflict.
      It will just take you an evening to apply all the stickers – remember, BOTH sides! 🙂

  2. My Kickstarter American Revolution version arrived today with the French Indian War supplement. Very nice PSC 20mm figures inside already removed from the sprues. ps Its not called Tricorn. Its called Hold the Line.

    • I didn’t think Hold The Line was a C&C variant…

    • Paul

      To confirm what I said earlier – Hold The Line is not a Command & Colors variant. Whilst both games use a 13 x 9 hex board, the ‘Hold The Line’ system that Worthington games developed uses action points rather than cards to give troops orders.
      The card-driven orders aspect of C&C is an integral part of the game mechanics, so I would contend that whilst Hold The Line has similarities, it’s not a C&C game…

      Looks nice though. I suspect we will see the same figures in Tricorne.

      Neil

  3. Jay, if you are reading this. How do I download episodes of your podcast? I can’t work it out. I can see how to listen on my PC but I prefer to download to my MP3 player. Help appreciated.
    Thanks

  4. I’ll just start again. Thanks for the clarification regarding Hold the Line Neil. And I will try to connect to Podbean. Thanks mate. I might see you at Salute. If you get hugged by an Aussie, its me.

3 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Meeples & Miniatures #191 | The Wargames Website
  2. Podcast Roundup | Tabletop Gaming News
  3. Hobby News Round-up: w/e 20th January 2017 – Meeples & Miniatures

Leave a Reply

