Hobby News – reinventing the wheel?

wargames-news

 

 

I’ve recently become aware of another great wargames news website – Wargame News and Terrain.

Couple this with the likes of Tabletop Gaming News and The Wargames Website (to name a couple) and it seems that the last thing people need is yet another source of source of hobby news.

Towards the end of last year, I laid out my thoughts about the direction that the blog would take in 2017.

Well, one month in and one thing is becoming plain – something needs to change. Whilst as a matter of course I try to keep up with what’s going on in the hobby, I am finding that doing that, and then regularly reporting on it via blog posts, leaves me with little time to do what I really want to do – which is write reviews and editorial pieces to complement the podcast.

Take this last weekend as an example. I wrote two posts about hobby news and crowdfunding, which probably took 2 -3 hours to write and publish between them, once you include all the background work of checking websites, sourcing pictures etc. In that same time I could have written a game review. Which is more useful? Or for that matter, which do I find more satisfying as a writer?

In posting about hobby news and crowd-funding projects, more often than not I’m picking up on information that has already been posted on other news sites, so in this I’m simply re-inventing the wheel. I’m not adding much at all, but simply passing on information. Maybe I’m disseminating the news to some readers who may not have seen it elsewhere, but that’s about it.

In short, I don’t think it’s the best use of my time. Other websites post news – they are good at it – so let them do it.

Instead, I think I’m better of spending my time writing those reviews and opinion pieces, because

  • It’s what I’m good at
  • It’s what I enjoy doing

Does that mean I will no longer be posting about hobby news and crowdfunding items? By no means – but it does mean that when I do, it will be because I have something to add to the conversation, rather than simply passing on second-hand news.

You may have noticed that I’ve been playing around somewhat with the website layout to reflect the new priorities, which will hopefully make the reviews and editorial content more prominent (i.e. nearer the top of the site!) I hope you will enjoy the (slight) change in direction for the rest of the year.

 

Happy Gaming!

Neil

11 Comments on Hobby News – reinventing the wheel?

  1. Alex Woodrow // February 1, 2017 at 10:45 // Reply

    Also worth noting that you guys cover hobby news in a more entertaining way within the podcasts anyway, making doing it in the blog doubly redundant. And, of course, that extra free time could be used to paint figures as well as writing editorials!

  2. Alex, agreed! The straight up factual delivery of new product descriptions and timelines is maybe better left to purpose built sites.

    Neil, focus on your strengths which seems to me are knowledgeable and insightful banter about our hobby delivered in an entertaining package. If things get in the way of that then, as you say, reviews and opinion pieces should be pushed to the front of the line.

  3. As you mention, many sites will tell me that a new item is out on the market, but it’s the M&M crew that tells me why we should Go Buy it Right Now – or not. Reviews, editorials and banter are your strong points. Now what are your thoughts on PETA asking GW to stop using fur on 40K models?

  4. Excellent decision! I greatly enjoy your reviews and general thoughts on the hobby, and I’d rather read more of those then generic hobby news.

  5. Agreed! And it would give more time to record View from the Veranda! ;-p

  6. Did someone say, ‘View from the Verandah’?
    😉

  7. Do what YOU like, Neil! That’s the best way to keep the show and the blog alive. It’s supposed to be fun! For you to do, primarily, and then it will automatically be fun for us to enjoy.
    BTW, thank you for these 10 years! Been with you from the beginning (or very close to it, anyway) and been enjoying it all the way. You’re responsible for far to much damage to my wallet 🙂

  8. I don’t really see the need for you to try and keep up with other sites on hobby news as just producing the number of podcasts and other updates is enough.

    Congratulations on the 10 years with the podcast, I checked back and found on my blog I’d reviewed you back in 2008 http://comment-deleted.blogspot.co.uk/2008/02/gaming-podcast-review-meeples.html

  9. I agree with what others said. Do what you enjoy and focus on editorial articles and reviews.

Leave a Reply

