ROBIN – A Selection of Games

wp-1486946714556.jpgAs I mentioned in my last post, I recently bought a new ‘toy’ for my camera – a fold-able rig mount. I’ve seen a couple of people using these at shows such as ‘Salute’ in the past, and I’ve been toying with the idea of filming display games at shows, so viewers can get a dynamic tour around tables, as if they were wandering around themselves, rather than simply a series of still images. I’m also hoping to fly around the table and get some model-eye views.

This only arrived last week, so the ROBIN show was the first chance I had to try it out.

It basically works exactly as I’d hoped, although getting smooth camera tracking certainly takes a lot of practice, so I apologise for the camera work in advance! That said, using the rig does help to eliminate much of the camera shake associated with holding the camera in your hands whilst shooting video.

I hope you enjoy this short film

2 Comments on ROBIN – A Selection of Games

  1. Good stuff! Being from Canada it’ll be a long time before I can get it together to attend shows your side of the pond. Videos like this one are the next best thing and give a better feel of things than just a picture dump. Love that Star Wars game and appreciate the ability to ‘walk around’ the table.

  2. Really enjoyed this – some great displays there, especially the Siege of Athlone. Tremendous stuff – very inspiring. Thanks again Neil. 🙂

Leave a Reply

