Ninjato – a great looking game…

I mentioned in my ‘Review of the Year’ podcast that I was looking forward to several new boardgame releases this year.

I did mention one release, which I couldn’t at the time remember the name of. That game is, of course, Ninjato which has been designed by the same team (Crosscut Games) behind Galactic Emperor – a game which was variously described as ‘Twilight Imperium Lite’ and ‘Puerto Rico in space’ – but a game which I really liked.

Ninjato is based in 12th Century Japan – an immediate bonus point in my book – players take on the role of rival Ninjas, who are each working to aid various Noble Houses as the vie for power.

Although the published rules look very interesting, the first thing that struck me about the game is the artwork, which looks very, very good. You can see from the box back that the card artwork looks great, and the playing board shown below is simply stunning.

This game is probably not going to be released until either late Summer or the Autumn, but is definately on my list of games that I must get this year.

2 Comments on Ninjato – a great looking game…

  1. Looks interesting and the art i can see here reminds of an RPG i cant place .Im looking forward to the new shogun total war game.i know that a little off topic but if they sort of the awful problems that empire had. il be on a bit of a medieval japan buzz so will definitely be looking into this game more as it nears its release date ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. That looks yummy indeed. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a comment