Meeples & Miniatures – Episode 77

Download Episode 77

Welcome to Episode 77 of the Meeples & Miniatures Podcast

In this show I review two of the recent Wargames rules releases for the Ancient period: Hail Caesar from Warlord Games and Clash of Empires from Great Escape Games

I take an in-depth look at both sets of rules, and give my thoughts on their relative strengths and who they would appeal to.

I hope you enjoy the show.

4 Comments on Meeples & Miniatures – Episode 77

  1. Michael Blair // August 2, 2011 at 19:21 // Reply

    I have enjoyed Incoming but it is obviously the place to cut as it covers material covered adequately elsewhere, though not with the same panache.

  2. HI Neil
    I agree with Michael (above) you have to balance what you do with the podcasts and give yourself time to enjoy life.
    sometimes you have to take as step back and see whats important

    Mike

  3. I’m curious about this particular era of warfare and gaming it. I’m new to mini wargaming and what little I’ve done has been with BKC and Command Decision TOB, both for WWII. Several reasons I like WWII that I won’t get into right now.
    However, ancients and black powder eras are intriguing mainly because I like fantasy (to some degree) and Samurai. But the way the games unfold, seems to be like this: large blocks of troops heading for the center, meeting and rolling dice for melees. I know it’s not this way, but this is how it appears. Also, there is a video for the Black Powder expansion that is from Barry Lyndon (sp?) that shows British marching in line toward French. The French begin firing, the British keep plodding forward (and many falling) until they reach melee. Seems such an odd way of fighting battle…so why would I game it.

    But I know there must be more to it than what I’m seeing and I’m interesting in getting the perspectives of those who’ve played many eras. Not necessarily to convince me, but to enlighten.

  4. Personally “Hail Ceasar” seemed more akin to what I’m looking for… a lighter game with friends. However, you’ve also been recommending Impetus for some time. I’m looking to get into ancients soon so which would you prefer to play with a group of friends at the club: Impetus or Hail Ceasar?

Leave a comment