Meeples & Miniatures – Episode 166 – Open Combat & Airfix Battles

Download Episode 166

Welcome to Episode 166 of the Meeples & Miniatures Podcast

m&M 166

In this episode, hosts Neil Shuck, Mike Hobbs & Mike Whitaker discuss what they’ve been doing (Hobby-wise) for the past two weeks and once again cast their eye over some of the latest hobby news.

In our main features in this show are two interviews. First we chat once again with Carl Brown of Second Thunder, just as the Open Combat rulebook is delivered. Then we talk with Chris Birch of Modiphius Entertainment about their upcoming wargame, Airfix Battles

We hope you enjoy the show

Show details:

  • 00:00 – Intro
  • 09:23 – What we’ve been up to
  • 40:36 – Hobby News
  • 1:08:12 – Carl Brown / Open Combat interview
  • 2:30:15 – Chris Birch / Airfix Battles interview
  • 3:30:05 – Outtro

Hobby News

13 Comments on Meeples & Miniatures – Episode 166 – Open Combat & Airfix Battles

  1. Another excellent episode, so much nostalgia, interesting interviews, and even ying tong iddle i po!
    I agree with Mr Hobbs about the Shieldmaidens…

  2. Another cracking episode! I particularly enjoyed listening to Chris Birch, but it was all top drawer stuff.

  3. Re the all too brief epilogue featuring that old classic song mentioned above, and because Mr Hobbs was unfamiliar with its next verse, it seems only fair to include the lyrics here, in their brevity, for future renditions…

    Lyrics

    (Orchestral intro)

    Tenor: There’s a song that I recall
    My mother sang to me.
    Spriggs (off): Oh! (a sigh)
    Tenor: She sang it as she tucked me in
    When I was ninety-three.

    (harp plays a rising chord…)

    Spriggs: I diddle, I. Who was that bum?

    Bluebottle + Spriggs:
    Ying tong ying tong
    Ying tong ying tong
    Ying tong iddle I po,
    Ying tong ying tong
    Ying tong ying tong (bluebottle drops behind)
    Ying tong iddle I po
    Spriggs: Keep lad up. Keep.
    Bluebottle: Keep up lad up.

    Both: Ying tong ying tong
    Ying tong ying tong
    Ying tong iddle I po
    Spriggs: lad
    Both: Ying tong ying tong
    Ying tong iddle I po (lad)
    Iddle I po (lad)

    Ying tong ying tong
    Ying tong (Spriggs: iddle) (Bluebottle: ying tong)
    Ying tong iddle I po
    Ying tong ying tong iddle

    Bluebottle (spoken):
    Ying tong iddle I po!
    (short raspberry, Secombe)

    Both: Oh!
    Ying tong ying tong
    Ying tong ying tong
    Ying tong iddle I po
    Ying tong ying tong
    Ying tong iddle I po
    Iddle I po!

    (trumpet bit)

    Bluebottle:
    Ying. Ying tongy tongy.
    Ying tong iddle I po.
    Ying tong iddle I po.
    (Secombe under this: What a lovely lovely boy!)
    (or Secombe under this: What a lovely melody devine!)
    Ying ying ying tongy tongy.
    (Milligan: Get out the rifle, sir.)
    (or Milligan: Get off the record.)
    Yeeeng.
    Ying tong ying tong d’gy-n’o.
    Ying tong d’ga.
    (Secombe: Get away.)
    D’g d’g d’ga.
    Ying tong iddle I po.

    Seagoon:Hear that crazy rhythm
    Driving me insane.
    Strike your partner on the bonce (bonk?).
    (thump)
    Eccles: Ooh. I felt no pain.
    (Seagoon screeches)

    Seagoon, Bluebottle and Eccles:
    Ying tong ying tong
    Ying tong ying tong
    Ying…

    (harp chord rises)

    Soprano: Take me back to Vienna….

    (Raspberry section, probably Milligan)

    Bloodnok: Ohhhhh!
    Eccles: Oh!

    (harp chord)

    Soprano: Take me back to Vienna, where the….

    (crash!)

    Seagoon, Spriggs and Bluebottle (far off):
    Ying tong ying tong
    Ying tong ying tong
    Ying tong iddle I po
    Ying tong ying tong
    Ying tong iddle I po

    (mad dash to foreground)

    Ying tong ying tong
    Ying tong ying tong
    Ying tong iddle I po
    (Spriggs: where’s he going lad?)
    (BB: I don’t know)
    Ying tong ying tong
    Ying tong iddle I po

    Seagoon: LOOK OUT!
    (cry from Bluebottle)

    (mad dash to distance)

    (hastily)
    Ying tong ying tong
    Ying tong ying tong
    Ying tong iddle I po
    Ying tong ying tong
    Ying tong iddle I po

    (dash to foreground)

    Ying tong…

    (whine of bomb dropping, explosion)

    Double speed, but same tempo, Goons:

    Ying tong ying tong
    Ying tong ying tong
    Ying tong iddle I po
    Ying tong ying tong
    Ying tong iddle I po
    Iddle I po.

    Ying tong ying tong
    Ying tong ying tong
    Ying tong iddle I po
    Ying tong ying tong
    Ying tong iddle I po
    Iddle I po.

    One: Ying! Tongy tongy tongy.
    Yiddy diddy diddy da daaa. Ying diddy.
    Ying tong diddle. Yiddada boo.
    (rhythmic thigh slapping, raspberry)

    All Ying tong ying tong
    Ying tong iddle
    Ying tong iddle I po
    Ying tong ying tong
    Ying tong iddle I po
    Iddle I po.

    Eccles: Whoooooh!

    ..

    There. And we’ve arrived. 🙂

  4. Martin Armstrong // March 8, 2016 at 14:19 // Reply

    Excellent show, ying. Shame about the record button tong. Did you need a tiddle break. I also say hello to Jason po Isaacs!

    Martin

  5. Talking of Antediluvian Miniatures, Warlord have released some ERB inspired miniatures, Savage Core, too. No mention of a system to go with them yet. I wonder if there is a rising tide for ERB Lost World inspired gaming?

  6. I should also add that I have been looking for some WW2 naval rules, mainly for light forces re the Solomons campaign. I would be interested in what you find, but at the moment I have found a set by David Child- Dennis on the Free Wargames Rules site: The War At Sea 1939-45. I may also use a set from an Article in Miniature Wargames: Whispering Death by Dillon Browne. Recent, but I can’t quote the issue I’m afraid.

  7. Sorry about the late feedback for Dave. Victory at Sea is a fantastic fast play naval rule set. Warlord Games recently bought them off Mongoose Publishing but you can still get the rule book out there including a PDF. My crew have been using them for years with our 1/3000 scale ships. If Warlord bought them then I reckon that’s a good indication of their sell ability and potential.

  8. Really enjoyed the Airfix segment of this show. I still have all my childhood figures in a big bucket in the shed. I have to get this and more importantly, the skirmish ones mentioned for a later release. Happy days.

  9. Ohhh, does that mean Warlord plastic ships by the bucket load?

3 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Classic Spaceship Model suitable for 28mm | Meeples & Miniatures
  2. Podcast Roundup | Tabletop Gaming News
  3. New COnan Boardgame pledges from Conan RPG KS | Meeples & Miniatures

Leave a Reply

